VALUING THE JOURNEY

 

August 4th

Recently I had a most awesome and amazing opportunity to truly value the delays along my journey in life. I was flying standby into Los Angeles from Atlanta, on what happened to be the busiest day at Hartsfields Jackson Airport.

On the first flight out which is the preferred flight when traveling standby, the gate attendants did not call one single person that was on the standby list. We were instructed to go to the Customer Service counter and list ourselves on the next flight or a future flight. In summary I spent more than twelve hours on a wonderful Saturday at the Atlanta airport.

At the Customer Service counter I was asked if I just wanted to wait until the next day because all the flights were oversold for that day and it looked doubtful that I would be able to get on any of the remaining flights. I laughed and replied, “No, because my son dropped me off and he is taking his children camping for the weekend fifty miles away. He has the only other set of house keys and I did not bring my set. I have no way of getting back into my house!”  I smiled the entire time during this conversation. And to think my luggage was already en route. The agent was mystified that I was so undisturbed by the news.

I met so many wonderful and incredible individuals while spending the day at the airport. I fully participated in the whole airport scenario.  The thirteen hours were filled with delightful people and wonderful experiences. I would have never scheduled myself a day at the airport but I was truly blessed by the experience. I relaxed and embraced this entire episode of my life. I went with the flow of what was actually happening in my life and did not moan or wish it was something other than what it was.

It is not possible summarize these thirteen hours of amazing miracles in one day, although I have attempted to do so.  The story continues on tomorrow.

Enjoy wherever you are today fully and completely. Value Your Journey!!!

Leave a Reply

